Something Different (For Me)

So I just realized that my last four posts have been for my English Lit. class, and I decided I’d like to do something a little different. Coincidentally, I just discovered (via my homepage nytimes.com) that Pope Benedict the XVI is stepping down at the end of this month. Wait, what? I didn’t believe it at first. I’m essentially (and in actuality) a non-practicing Catholic. I was baptized as a baby, had my first communion, was confirmed in the Catholic church at 17, and then I got a job and quit going to mass. By the by, it was at a movie theater so Saturday night mass wasn’t exactly an option and no way was I getting up Sunday morning like those crazy protestants (I kid), so yea, non-practicing.

Still, despite my less than devout status, I do consider myself a Catholic, and what happens to the papacy still affects me or at least gives me something to ponder. Now, Pope Benedict is no John Paul II by any means, and I honestly couldn’t tell you anything about what he’s done as the pope since his election. I guess the really crazy thing to me is the fact that no one in over 600 years has stepped down from their role as the head of the Catholic church before they died. The church is very much about tradition (one of the things that both draws me to my religion and pushes me away from it) so this is shocking all on its own.

I’m rambling now, so I’ll end with this: I sincerely hope that the current Pope is well, and that his successor will be up to the task at hand because the church is in vast disarray and needs someone to lead it forward.

As I step off the soap box, please forgive the multiple parenthesis (I like them).

Opinions, Thoughts, and Questions belong below!

