Nanowrimo Alternative: Day 12, Girly Stuff

Nobody taught me how to put on make up when I was growing up. I had tumultuous teen years (moreso than most and things completely beyond my control), so I was adopted by my grandparents at 15, for which I am eternally grateful. I’m not entirely sure at what age girls are usually shown how make up works, or if that even is really a thing. Do most people just pick it up by diffusion like I did and I’m being self-conscious about it for no reason?

Anyway, this hit home the other night when I went shopping with a friend. Now, I suck at shopping anyway. I’m too picky, I don’t like spending money, and I don’t know what I like. I overthink everything, so it generally turns out to be a stressful enterprise. I actually had fun this time. I was silly and tried things I knew would never work. But that’s not really the important part; we went to pick up some hair dye for her, and we looked at make up. She taught me what the hell primer is and helped me pick one. Also a bright red lipstick because I’m pretty sure magazines have been telling me that’s a cool look for years now. I tried both today for the first time. I think it’s good?

Sometimes I wish I had been more girly growing up. Or that I’d had a sister or someone to teach me these things. Of course, I’m sure my aunts or cousins would have been happy to help if I had asked. But again, I wasn’t really girly in high school, and by the time I got to college I was kind of embarrassed to ask. I also tend to want to figure things out on my own. So I may end up binge-watching make up tutorials for the next few hours. Oh who am I kidding? I’m just going to be watching Black Butler and knitting Christmas presents.

(Related) Random photo:

Am I doing this right?

Am I doing this right?

Opinions, Thoughts, and Questions belong below!

