Make all of the Ear Warmers!

So today was productive. I finished the banana hammock Christmas gift that I have been working on. It was more complicated than expected. And I made an ear warmer for myself. I did both of these things despite working a hellacious 8 hour shift this evening. I really hate closing.

Anyway, the man thong isn’t actually 100% complete yet as I haven’t sewn in the elastic band. My gauge was a little off, I think. I used needles two sizes smaller than recommended to get the correct stitch gauge, but the row gauge was still off a few. I have no idea how that happened. Maybe a yarn or tension difference? I think it worked out okay, though. I seriously doubt my friend will actually wear it. He made a joke recently about needing a hand-knit thong, so I asked his favorite color. Possibly more effort than should really go into a gag gift, but at least I got to practice my short row technique.

The one I’m super excited about is the ear warmer. It’s knit with a beautiful super bulky Yarn Bee Mosaic Twist in Sunset. I had made a scarf with this yarn a few years back but still had a couple skeins on hand. I didn’t even use a whole skein for the headband! Unfortunately, I now cannot find the matching scarf. But I’m sure it must be here somewhere. Or maybe in the car… Searching is on my to-do list.

Here’s the finished product:

Ear warmer in Yarn Bee Sunset

Ear warmer in Yarn Bee Sunset

I found that pattern on Ravelry, which is honestly where I find most of the patterns I use. The database is just so big and it’s so easy to search for exactly what you want. I must admit, I did the button a bit differently from the original pattern, but that’s because I made the piece a little longer than called for because I didn’t think it would quite fit my head. It would have with the original button plan, but I really like how it turned out. I think it’ll keep me toasty when I’m going to work at 6am. And with colors like that, my day is sure to be bright no matter what.

Bright!!

Bright!!

Opinions, Thoughts, and Questions belong below!

