20 Something: My Favorite Holiday

So, it’s Christmas Eve, and all I’m really excited about is rushing through this holiday so that I can get my New Year’s groove on. New Year’s has always been my very favorite holiday. I’ve always found it fascinating that over the course of one night, we roll over into a new year, occasionally a new decade, and on that one occasion in my life, a new millennium. Second chances, new beginnings, fresh starts, the promise of good things to come. It’s intoxicating even without the requisite alcohol consumption.

This year, I will be going to a semi-formal rave with some friends that I have made over the past few months. I cannot wait! But party aside, it’s a great time of year. I love Christmas, and one week after that is my favorite holiday, and one week after that is my birthday. Such rapid succession of things that I love has always made me happy.

Sure it’s weird trying to remember to change that last number (or last two numbers) for the first three months, but even that is wonderful. Because every time until March that I will have to scratch out a 4 and enter a 5, I will be reminded that it is a new year. It is my year. Even if it’s not my weekend (mildly obscure song reference, ftw?).

So, in the spirit of new year’s, I want to make a post each day for the next week related to my favorite holiday. Today, I want to start with my one over-arching hope for the new year:

I hope that I will accept every new chance at adventure that comes my way without restraint (even if there is some hesitation at first).

Over the past couple of months, I have discovered that opening myself up to new things is one of the most gratifying experiences of my life. How else would I have discovered that I love the two-step? How else would I have realized that Fairy Tail is one of the greatest animes ever? So here’s hoping that I can hold onto my recently regained sense of adventure in the new year. Cheers!

Opinions, Thoughts, and Questions belong below!

