20 Something: Domestic Day

Between working full-time and going to school full-time, usually when I get home all I wanna do is either curl up with a book and some Taco Bell or grab a beer and stare at the ceiling (Sam Adams Seasonal Cold Snap is my favorite right now. It tastes like Jasmine Tea!). But occasionally, I realize that my to-do list has grown massive and there are more clothes on my floor than in my closet. Not okay. I’m not a neat freak by any stretch, but I do believe that a tidy living space is necessary to a tidy life. So today after work, I was a domestic goddess.

I made banana bread. I haven’t tasted it, yet, but it smells divine. I cleaned every counter top in the kitchen (well, minus the stove because it was hot with the oven on), and I even mopped. I did laundry, ran the dishwasher, and I cooked dinner for the first time in like a week. It’s a mac and cheese recipe from the side of a Campbell’s Poblano Queso something soup can, and it was delish! It also made enough for a family of four so I’m glad it’s good as I will be eating it for some time.

I really like days like this. I feel productive and accomplished. Crossing things off the to-do list (mental or otherwise) is refreshing, and I don’t feel embarrassed to have people over. On these all too rare domestic days, I feel like I actually have my life together. It’s like I’m an adult in more aspects than just paying rent and taxes.

I meant to clean the bathroom, too, but now it’s homework time.

One thought on “20 Something: Domestic Day

Opinions, Thoughts, and Questions belong below!

