20 Something: Food and such

Sunday has become my meal planning day. I plan out what I intend to cook (or not cook) each night for the week, then I go grocery shopping on Monday after class. This is week four of trying this method out, and it seems to be (mostly) working so far. I have been eating a lot less fast food, both in the evening and for my work lunches. I can’t help but think that there must be more ways for me to save on food though. Everything comes in such large quantities that I rarely use all of an item before it goes bad. I most likely need to try planning out meals better so that some of the ingredients with closer expiration dates (like produce and dairy) will be used in the same week. I’ve been pretty indulgent with my menu planning.

I get on Allrecipes.com or Pintrest for an hour and earmark all kinds of things that sound delicious and perfect for testing my cooking skills. Unfortunately, most of these recipes are designed with families of four or more in mind. It has been suggested that I could make the whole batch and then have leftovers for the rest of the week. While this is cost-efficient, I am not so broke or so desperate to save money that I can throw away my longheld aversion to leftovers. I wouldn’t eat them at all as a kid. Now as a (mostly) adult, I understand that some foods can even be better the second heat-through, but I also know that after having the same thing for two nights, I am done with it for a while.

I am going to try limiting myself to one complex (this usually means it has a large ingredient list) recipe. That way, I still get my “I’m a super chef” fix, but I don’t keep overspending on groceries.

This week’s menu includes: Lemon Cream Pasta with Chicken; Ground Beef Vegetable Stew; Rosemary Chicken with Herbed Pasta; and (potentially) Coq au Vin.

Opinions, Thoughts, and Questions belong below!

