Original Recipe: Salmon Veggie Bake for Two

I made this little beauty tonight. Inspiration for the marinade came from this recipe on AllRecipes.com, but I tweaked it to suit my purposes (and contents of my cupboard/fridge) and added the veggies for a nice baked entrée. This just might be my favorite salmon recipe that I’ve made at home, and I’ve made several over the past two years as salmon is second only to chicken for my go-to meat when cooking at home. Where I just added ingredients without measuring, I have used the (approx.) notation. I’m terrible at judging measurements so take those particular portion suggestions with a grain of salt (or two, I can’t remember how many I used).

Delicious and pretty

Delicious and pretty

Salmon Veggie Bake for Two
• 2 frozen salmon filets with skin, thawed
• handful of baby carrots, sliced long into four quarters
• ¼ yellow onion, sliced into strips
• ½ zucchini, sliced round
• 2 tbsp soy sauce
• 2 tbsp olive oil
• 2 tbsp rice vinegar
• 1 tbsp sesame seed
• 1/2 tsp powdered ginger (approx.)
• 1 tsp minced garlic (approx.)
• ½ tsp powdered garlic (approx.)
• pepper, liberally sprinkled
• 1 ½ tbsp brown sugar, packed

1.) The marinade: Whisk together everything from soy sauce to brown sugar

2.) Cut slits in salmon filets and place in glass baking dish. Top with sliced veggies. Pour marinade over all; give it a little shake to help it settle all the way through. If desired, sprinkle some extra soy sauce and sesame seeds over the top. Cover and chill for one hour.

3) Preheat oven to 375. Cook for 20-25 minutes.

4) Serve with Ramen. I cooked the noodles on the stove: once done, turn off the heat but leave the pan and add the soy sauce and seasoning. Stir together, then drain water. It gets the noodles lightly flavored for a good compliment to the salmon veggie bake.

Opinions, Thoughts, and Questions belong below!

