Review: Night Pleasures by Sherrilyn Kenyon (2002)

With a cover that makes it embarrassing to read it at work.

With a cover that makes it embarrassing to read it at work.

So I read this book in two days. It was really hard to put down. Super steamy paranormal romance is one of my major guilty pleasures when it comes to books, but good ones are actually somewhat hard to find. I’ve read the Anita Blake series by Laurell K. Hamilton all the way through twice, but that’s really the last series that piqued my interest enough for a second read.

However, I’m suddenly very interested in the Dark Hunter series. I’ve already got the next book (Night Embrace) sitting on my coffee table waiting for me when I finish writing this review.

Basic premise: Dark Hunters are essentially vampires created by Artemis to fight the Daimons, which are also vampires. Kyrian is an ancient Thracian prince who really loves being a Dark Hunter until he gets handcuffed to an accountant named Amanda who abhors all things paranormal, even though her family is neck deep in that sort of thing. Hell, her twin sister is a vampire hunter.

This book really represented my favorite things about this genre: steamy sexual tension that meshes with a simple yet solid plot and characters that I can actually care about because they have multiple dimensions to their personalities and backgrounds. Even the secondary characters are simply loaded with detail. Night Pleasures is driven by character almost as much as it is by sex. And killing evil things.

Still, because it is a paranormal romance, there isn’t really much else to say about it. I’m sure the second book will follow in a similar vein. New villain, new main characters, but ultimately the same structure. And I’m absolutely fine with that because Kenyon has a great writing style, and she lets her characters speak and develop instead of letting them get lost in the formulaic nature of the genre.

4 out of 5. Only reason it’s not a 5 is because I don’t really see myself reading it again unless I’m seriously jonesing for this type of writing. And with several other books of the same ilk from her sitting on my shelf, that will certainly take a while.

2 thoughts on “Review: Night Pleasures by Sherrilyn Kenyon (2002)

  1. Megan says:

    I just recently read my first book by Sherrilyn Kenyon (Born of Night) and I think enjoyed it about as much as you did. I am excited to hear about this Anita Blake series that you’ve reread so many times. I’ve been looking for something like that so I hope I enjoy it as much as you did. Now to add it to my HUGE to read list. 🙂

    Like

    • jenovotony says:

      The newer books in the series aren’t quite as good because Hamilton just has too many characters to juggle, but I’d say the first 15 or so are definitely must reads. The lead is a total bamf!

      Like

Opinions, Thoughts, and Questions belong below!

