20 Something: Friday Night Home Alone

I had a moment earlier tonight while eating dinner out of a ceramic Wonder Woman mug and watching America’s Got Talent. In this moment, I wondered what the hell I was doing with my life. I am 23, relatively pretty, and generally sociable. Yet, here I was, sitting at home alone on a Friday night watching crap TV and eating from a bowl emblazoned with a superhero symbol. Oh, and did I mention that I’m drinking wine alone?

I started to get down on myself. I have been job hunting for nearly three months with zero success. I am essentially single. I have very few close friends.

Of course, I immediately snapped out of this because, you know what? I may be job hunting, but I still have a full-time job with health insurance. It’s not the job I want (hence the hunt) but it pays for the one bedroom apartment that I’m lounging in right now. No one has to help me pay for this apartment. Or the WiFi that I am using to write this post.

And that dinner in the Wonder Woman mug? I made that from scratch. It was fricassée du poulet with white rice. I put way too much tarragon in it because I forgot halfway through that I was halving the recipe, but it still tasted delicious. And the wine? I bought that on a road trip to New York last month while driving through Pennsylvania. It’s a $20 bottle of chocolate-covered cherry wine, and I knew when I bought it that I would be using it to celebrate living alone.

And I do have friends. I just had a beer with one of them after work. Another group of them invited me to the Loony Bin Comedy Club tonight. And why didn’t I accept? Because I have to go to that job I mentioned at 7 am tomorrow. But I am hanging out with those same friends tomorrow night instead.

Are there things about my life that I would like to change? Sure. But am I happy? Double sure. I like that I can plant my butt on the leather futon I bought in high school for 50 bucks while watching local TV via an indoor antenna (I refuse to pay for cable that I wouldn’t even use).

And Wonder Woman is boss.

IMG_20150717_211744[1]

2 thoughts on “20 Something: Friday Night Home Alone

    • jenovotony says:

      It’s really fabulous. The chocolate is very subtle but it’s still a very decadent wine. I usually don’t drink dessert wines, but this one is special.

      Like

Opinions, Thoughts, and Questions belong below!

