Blog-Tember 4: Shuffle and Play

Put your iTunes/music player on shuffle and share the first 10 songs that play.

  1. Bulletproof” by La Roux (Fred Falke remix). Single. Such a great post-break up song. Video is a bit strange, but I mean, it’s techno stuff so what do you expect? It’s also just a generally fluffy song.
  2. Somebody” by Bryan Adams. So Far So Good. I have no idea how this got on my computer, but I for some reason have the entire album. I don’t even really listen to it. There’s a lot of stuff like that on my PC so this could actually be a very interesting/boring list. When the song first started playing, I wasn’t even sure what it was. Now that I’m listening through it, I’ve totally heard this. It’s got a Bruce Springsteen feel to it. I want to disagree so hard with the idea that “I need somebody/Everybody needs somebody,” but I can’t.
  3. Settle for Nothing” by Rage Against the Machine. Rage Against the Machine. Not one of the songs I’m really familiar with because I listen to the Battle for Los Angeles album more often. I love RATM because it brings out (or justifies) my liberal side and it’s just easy to rock out to.
  4. Californication” by the Red Hot Chili Peppers. Single. Such a chill song. It makes me alternately want to take a trip to California today and never visit there ever.
  5. Drones in the Valley” by Cage the Elephant. Cage the Elephant. I love the disjointed sound of this band. Only problem I really have is that pretty much all of their songs sound the same. Still, I really like the debut album.
  6. Lost” by Avenged Sevenfold. Avenged SevenfoldThis was my favorite band in high school. The Rev was an absolutely amazing drummer. (I had a thing for drummers). This song is not my favorite and neither is the album, but it’s still good. Favorite album is easily City of Evil, though I also liked Nightmare. Favorite song from the self-titled album is “Dear God.”
  7. Ghost Opera” by Kamelot. Ghost Opera. So much love for this band. I was only introduced to their music last year, and the current singer is not the same as the one on this album. But the music is great, heavy but melodic. And the music video styles are pretty fabulous too. I love how “Ghost Opera” (and some of the other songs) use operatic female vocals as back up. It has sort of a Repo! The Genetic Opera feel to it, which I totally dig.
  8. Iris” by the Goo Goo Dolls. Dizzy Up the Girl. Well, this was a bit of a switch from the last two. This is one of my go-to karaoke songs. It’s sweet and sad, and I had to stay far far away from it during my break up last fall. So much longing. Such sighs. I really do love 90s rock sometimes.
  9. Death Rides a Horse” by Russian Circles. EnterThis band. If you haven’t head this band, stop reading this and go check them out. I saw them perform at a tiny venue in OKC last year, and I have been in love ever since. They’re an instrumental rock group, so if you need lyrics with your music, you actually might not like them. I love good instrumental rock, though, and they are damn good. They played for about an hour when I saw them; I was tired when they started playing, but I was so entranced the entire time, that I forgot to be tired and just got lost in the music, which flows together beautifully, by the way. Sometimes listening to their songs out of sequential order can be jarring because the albums are constructed to flow seamlessly.
  10. Here by Me” by 3 Doors Down. Seventeen Days. I really liked this band in high school. I don’t listen as much anymore, but this is one my favorite songs, so I’m kind of glad it’s the one that played. It’s another kind of angtsy romantic rock song. Another one to avoid post-break up. But a great gentle listen any other time.
  11. Bonus Song: Now You’re Gone” by Whitesnake. The Definitive Collection. I decided to include the 11th song that played because I realized that there was no 80s music on this list, which is weird because I swear of the 275 hours worth of music on my Windows Media Player, at least 1/3 is 80s rock. So yeah, this song deserves to be here. The only thing better would have been Slaughter.

I was kind of worried at the beginning that it was just going to play random things I don’t even listen to but never bothered to delete. However, it turned out well. If you take anything from this list: Russian Circles and Kamelot. Go listen to them. Now.

Opinions, Thoughts, and Questions belong below!

