Blog-Tember 5: A Fashionista I am Not

Share your style. What fashion trends do you love, frequent, or avoid?

I work at a store that sells clothing, and I even work in the accessories department, so you’d think that I had some idea about what’s on trend right now. I don’t. At all. If you come in and ask if the necklace you’re looking at goes with the dress you just tried on, I will probably say “yes” as a default. I won’t tell you the dress looks awful, but I’ll probably be thinking it because there is very little in the way of clothing that impresses me. And the simpler things are, the more I like them.

Anecdote: I was setting up a coat and boot display last week, and this involved dressing a mannequin. I spent forever picking out the “fall” stuff to go with this orange coat, and then I asked the opinion of a slightly more in-tune with fashion co-worker, who essentially helped me change everything but the coat. Le sigh.

Basically my downtime style is generally t-shirt/tank top and jeans with Converse. In the winter, substitute a sweater and possibly knee-high boots. And a jacket no matter the season.

High Fashion

High Fashion

But as I am writing this, I am realizing that I have a very big fashion issue right now: I have no idea how to wear professional attire. And I have an interview in a few days. I have been trying to buy pieces for the past year or so just a bit at a time of what I think are supposed to be professional.

Currently, I have two pairs of slacks (1 grey, 1 black), 2 sensible skirts (1 grey, 1 black), 3 Victorian-style shirts (2 maroon, 1 black), a blue 3/4 sleeve specifically designed for tucking (I think) and one fitted black blazer.

I also have some nice flats, but I cannot for the life of me find sensible pumps in any color. I’m pretty sure that heels (plain black, closed-toe) with a three-inch heel are frowned upon. Or are they? Does the sensibility of the heels rely on height or the ability of the wearer to walk in them? Because if it’s the latter, I’m golden.

I have no idea what I’m doing. I have googled images and articles on professional attire and none of them are the least bit helpful. I know how to tie a tie but not tuck in a shirt, and I’m pretty sure the first one is far less useful to me right now. Oh! And googling that doesn’t help either because everything that comes up is either about how to tuck in a guy’s shirt or is a debate about why women don’t even need to tuck in their shirts.

Don't even try to tell me this doesn't need to be tucked in. Also, the back is a good 3 or 4 inches longer than the front.

Don’t even try to tell me this doesn’t need to be tucked in.

Now that I’m looking at it (and wearing it) I’m beginning to wonder if I accidentally bought a maternity shirt. The shoulders and arms fit well, but the body is absurdly large.

Does this look stupid?

Does this look stupid?

It also doesn’t help that it’s nearly impossible to find size 0 slacks. Or pretty much anything else that fits me. It’s like ready-to-wear clothing companies don’t believe that grown women can be this small. I assure you, I’m not alone! I had to settle for slacks in a size 1, and I can’t tell if the fit is right or at least acceptable enough to fudge it. They’re a bit loose around the waist and very loose around the legs, but I think that’s how things are supposed to work? They’re also so long that I actually kind of need to wear the three inch heels or the hems will trail the ground.

Of course, I could also be shopping at the wrong places, but I am on a budget here. I think part of the problem is that the cheapest place for me to shop outside of a thrift store is where I work, and our career department leaves a lot of things to be desired. We don’t even carry legitimate blazers. The Misses section is a bit better (more career, less dressy) but if it’s difficult for me to find Juniors clothing that fits, it’s impossible to find Misses. Small in Misses terminology is not the same as in mine. Even the few extra-smalls I’ve managed to find tend to swallow me or at least fit funky.

I think I need somewhere with a petite section.

Also, I need someone to tell me what to wear.

Help.

2 thoughts on “Blog-Tember 5: A Fashionista I am Not

  1. Lunar says:

    It’s very common to need to have slacks tailored. Especially if you’re short. However the petite section can help somewhat if you’re willing to browse or be patient. But I think the outfit in general was nice. You’re on the right track!

    Like

Opinions, Thoughts, and Questions belong below!

