Blog-Tember 7: Tis the Season. But which one?

Prompt: Tell us about your favorite season. Why is it your favorite and what does it say about you?

Living in Oklahoma is kind of weird because while we do have seasons, they don’t really stay in the order they are supposed to. One day it’s nearly 100 degrees, the next feels like fall, and then a day or two later we’re back to summer and this will go on well past the official start of fall. Still, eventually things settle down for a bit and we get a nice consistent season.

But I don’t really have a favorite. I usually say that my favorite season is which ever one it happens to be. At least, until the end of the season, at which point I am tired of it and ready for the next one. Right now, my favorite season is fall because it is right around the corner. I can’t wait to wear sweaters and the hundreds of scarves, hats, and gloves I’ve knit. I’m excited for hot chocolate laced with Carolin’s Irish Cream, and I want to finally use that can of pumpkin pie filling that’s been in the pantry for who knows how long (it’s been over a year, and I’m pretty sure it’s going to hit the expiration date by the end of the month). Halloween is such a fun holiday, and I already have my costume decided though not actually assembled.

Can't wait to put this on my front door again!

And I can’t wait to put this on my front door again!

But as much as I love fall right in this moment, I know halfway through it, I will be ready for snow and Christmas (I LOVE Christmas) and New Year’s and my birthday (they’re all within two weeks of each other, so it’s a busy time). I’m ready for wearing heavy coats and doing some serious knitting because I make my best stuff in the winter.

But then, of course, by February I will be so ready for spring. Tornado season is always sure to keep me on my toes, and I love listening to and smelling the rain. I like seeing everything go from brown and dreary to instantly green from one day to the next. I am not looking forward to allergies that come with temperature changes. But I can’t wait to switch from heavy coats to light jackets.

Honestly, it’s easier for me to pick a least favorite season: summer. But then, this is super biased because it has been summer for months now, and I am tired of it. By next year, I’ll probably be excited for swim suits and fruity cocktails and Independence Day. 

But right now, I’m just ready for autumn. Does that make me basic or just tired of sweating?

Opinions, Thoughts, and Questions belong below!

