Blog-Tember 9: Bucket List

Prompt: 10 items off your bucket list. If you haven’t made one, now’s a good time to start!

I have to be honest; I don’t have a bucket list. There are several things I would like to do before I die, but as a young 20-something, imagining my own death is really difficult. I feel like I have all the time in the world. Still, I’ll be 24 in a few months, (Writing it makes it feel more real. Ugh.) and I know that anything can happen at any time, so maybe I should make a list of life goals and start working towards them.

So, here we go:

  1. Visit Paris
    5129XFB3SQLEIX

    • I have been obsessed with the French language since I was 12. I’ve been decorating my living spaces with Eiffel Towers since high school. I want to see the real thing. Of course, I really want to visit Marseilles more than Paris. It holds a bit more allure, but the love of Paris has been there for so much longer that I know the real place I simply have to visit before I kick it is Paris.
  2. Publish a book
    • I’ve known since I was 6 that I wanted to work with writing in some capacity. Actually, when I was 6, I knew that I wanted to be an author. Later I switched to journalism, then editing, and now I just want to do it all. I am currently working on a novel, and I am hoping that this will be the one that I actually finish. If I can just tough it out, I think it’ll be something really awesome. I’ve got over 20,000 words on it at the moment, but it’s all outlined, and there’s still a long way to go.
  3. Read all of the books in my possession
    • I have two bookshelves overflowing with books that I have collected over the years. I’ve read many of them. In fact, a lot of them are books that I own simply because I want to read them over and over again. But many more are things that I picked up because they looked interesting or because someone gave them to me, and I haven’t read a lot of those. I made a list at one point of all the books I haven’t read yet. There were nearly 100, and that was before my aunt gave me a bunch more. This could take a while to accomplish, particularly as I have a penchant for visiting Half-Price Books every few months.
  4. Get a Master’s degree
    • I don’t know what I want the degree to be in. I just know that I want it. Perhaps Library and Information Science or Computer Science. Maybe continue from my creative writing Bachelor’s degree. I can’t afford it right now, but someday I want to go back to school and get a master’s. I know it might not even prove that helpful in the job market, but I still want it.
  5. Go snowboarding

    • This is another thing that has fascinated me from a young age. When I was in middle school, snowboarding seemed like the absolute coolest thing ever. Still kind of does actually. I’m told that skiing is better, but I’m still far more interested in learning to snowboard. I guess I just need to get a group together for a trip to Colorado this winter. Who’s with me?
  6. Learn to Waltz
    • I tried ballroom dancing when I was a student at Stony Brook University, and last Thanksgiving I tried to learn the basic waltz steps from YouTube videos in my dining room. I’d like to get a little more serious about it. And, I would like to have occasion to use the new found skill. For instance, how cool would it be to attend a themed (even period) ball including waltzing? That was a rhetorical question because it would obviously be amazing.
  7. Attend an anime convention in costume
    First cosplay: Soul Eater's Tsubaki.

    First cosplay: Soul Eater’s Tsubaki.

    • I have a Tsubaki (Soul Eater) cosplay from last Halloween, and I would like to use it for a convention. That or I have been planning to do a cosplay of Kisara (Kenichi: The Mightiest Disciple). I’ve heard that conventions are a lot of fun, and I really want to check on out.
  8. Adopt a teenager (or preteen)
    • I’ve known for a very long time that I have no intention of ever physically giving birth. There’s still time to change my mind, I suppose, but I have very deep-seated beliefs on that whole process, and those beliefs in no way involve giving birth as a miraculous event. I won’t go into total detail, but suffice it to say that if I’m going to have a parasite in my body, I’d rather have a tapeworm, thanks.
    • That said, I do want to adopt at some point. And not a baby. Everybody wants to adopt a baby so they can raise it as their own and then give the kid a complex later when they find out their parents aren’t their “parents.” I was adopted by my grandparents when I was 15. If they hadn’t been able to take me in (or any of my other family for that matter) I would have knocked around the foster care system until I turned 18, and I imagine that would not have been a pretty time for me. I want to help out a kid that doesn’t have the safety net of a large and caring family like I did.
  9. Watch (and understand) a French film without subtitles
    • I’m not sure why this is such a marker of increased fluency for me, but it is. This is actually one of my goals that I hope to accomplish by the end of this year. Spoken French in films is far harder to understand than speaking to a real person (ditto for French news) and I think if I can get what they’re saying in a movie, I can probably understand an actual person if the occasion ever arises.
  10. [Insert something here]
    • Ok, so this whole list has been way harder than expected, and I can’t actually come up with a number 10 right now, so I’ll come back to it at some point. Suggestions? Let me know in the comments.

Well, that’s it for my bucket list at the moment. I’m actually working towards a couple of them right now, but most are on the horizon or over the edge of the earth still. Looks like it’s time to start developing action plans to actually get there. I love planning things!

5129TC6B6AB6V4

Opinions, Thoughts, and Questions belong below!

