Blog-Tember 10: Chasing Falling Stars

Prompt: A favorite quote/expression and how it has impacted you.

5129TU42N9EZYE

I didn’t actually like the book On the Road very much. I liked Kerouac’s style, but the story itself did little for me. Granted, I was a junior in high school when I read it, so it’s possible that a reread now would change that opinion.

At any rate, this particular quote has stuck with me over the years. Because in this one thing at least, I did feel a connection to the character. I don’t remember the context at all, but as a stand alone moment, it hits me.

To me, this quote describes being a young adult today. Or at least, the young adult that I am today. I can’t settle on what I want to do with my life. My hobby and interest list is ten times longer than that of any of the people I’ve been meeting recently. I usually feel like I’m all over the place.

Today was particularly bad in the restlessness department. I’m trying to get back into freelance writing, but I just couldn’t seem to focus. I finally gave up on getting anything done in the freelance department and started jumping between three different books (it would have been four, but I finished The Osiris Ritual by George Mann yesterday): Crafting the Personal Essay: A Guide for Writing and Publishing Creative Nonfiction by Dinty W Moore, Beginning Programming with Java for Dummies by Barry Burd, PhD, and The Subversive Job Search: How to Overcome a Lousy Job, Sluggish Economy, and Useless Degree to Create a Six-Figure Career by Alan Corey.

51293KQE310DMQ

Plenty of light reading, as you can see.

Well, to be fair, all three writers have very smooth styles that are actually easy to read, though Corey should perhaps lay off the catnip because dude is a little all over the place.

Anyway, I kept bouncing between them because I couldn’t focus on any one topic. I thought about diving back into An Incomplete Education: 3,684 Things You Should have Learned but Probably Didn’t by Judy Jones and William Wilson or Superstrings and the Search for the Theory of Everything by F. David Peat, but I was trying to tame the madness a bit at least.

I finally had to mindlessly play the Sims 3 for four hours while vegging out and watching first The Mummy and then The Phantom of the Opera so that my mind would chill out. Now Repo! The Genetic Opera is on because I really can’t do just one thing right now, and it’s the only musical I own that isn’t all romance-oriented.

Anyway, this is what I mean: I like too many things, so I bounce around from one interesting topic or hobby to another until I fall into a mental wasteland to avoid collapsing entirely. And all I get out of it is more confusion.

See, Kerouac put it way more succinctly.

Opinions, Thoughts, and Questions belong below!

