SMART goals: That tracker I promised

5129TC6B6AB6V4

I remember when I first learned about SMART goals, I thought they were the dumbest thing ever. They were difficult to come up with, hard to track, and seemingly pointless. I’ve had to scale back this animosity a bit in recent months.

For those of you unfamiliar with these, (or perhaps you know them by a different name) SMART goals are: Specific, Measurable, Achievable, Realistic, and Time-oriented.

Personally, I still think having both the A and R portions is redundant, but it helps the acronym so whatever.

Back in July, I started working on weekly goals using a loose version of the SMART system. Those goals are:

5129G6XX9Y231R

  1. Cook at least one new meal per week
  2. Do yoga at least 3 times per week for at least 30 minutes each time.
  3. Write at least 7000 words per week for my novel in progress
  4. Post two blog posts per week
  5. Watch a French movie without subtitles by the end of the year (this one has lots of smaller weekly goals going into it that I don’t feel like typing)

I’ve made spreadsheets to track my goals, too. I transferred them to a Google Doc spreadsheet HERE.

These are the blank versions from the beginning of the four week period. The dates are a bit weird because I started doing this in a middle of a month, so each time I reset the spreadsheets for another four week period, it’s the last two weeks of one month and the first two weeks of the next. It’s weird but it works for me.

Also, this is the first real spreadsheet work that I did. I’ve since made a monthly bill budget/tracker, and I plan to do a more comprehensive monthly budget tracker as I am trying to a) get financially stable again and b) work on my Excel skills.

*Fun fact about google spreadsheets: Microsoft Excel uses a =SUB function to subtract numbers, but Google uses =MINUS instead. The operate the same, but Google Docs has no idea what =SUB is and apparently doesn’t even know the meaning of the word subtract.*

I really need to get back on track with these goals. I’ll have a really good week (or two) and then I’ll fall off of it again and not keep up with anything. My willpower needs a bit of help, I guess.

So, what do you think of the sheets? Helpful or cumbersome? And how about those SMART goals (keeping in mind that I’m using a loose version)?

Opinions, Thoughts, and Questions belong below!

