BlogTember 12: Pleasures of the Guilty Variety

September is almost over, and I still have several of the prompts from the #blogtemberchallenge list that I want to use. Best get started then, I guess!

Prompt: It’s guilty pleasure time! Shows, books, songs, foods, whatever it may be.

I’m actually kind of intrigued by the term “guilty pleasure.” Particularly because it isn’t really used to talk about something that we should feel legitimately guilty about. It’s guilty because some amorphous them decided whatever thing we happen to enjoy immensely is not popular or at least not good.

Anyway, here are a few of my guilty pleasures. And if I didn’t absolutely loathe the phrase, I would probably include a “Sorry, not sorry” here.

#1 Guilty Pleasure: Stargate SG-1 Fanfiction

#1 Guilty Pleasure: Stargate SG-1 Fanfiction

I’ve actually talked about my obsession with the show before. So I won’t go into detail here, but it really is an amazing franchise. And there are some amazing WIP in and completed stories on the fanfiction site. And update on the linked post: I actually started posting my WIP story that I started back in high school. There’s not many reviews on it, yet, though it’s had several views/visitors, so I’m thinking it might be utter crap (though the four reviews said some nice things). Anyway, if you’re interested in that sort of thing: take a gander.

#2 Guilty Pleasure: Scooby-Doo and Kim Possible

#2 Guilty Pleasure: Scooby-Doo and Kim Possible

My other long-time TV show guilty pleasures: Kim Possible and Scooby Doo. I’m actually planning a Kim Possible costume for Halloween, and Velma is a my spirit sister. I have literally woken up in the morning feeling around on my nightstand thinking “Where are my glasses? I can’t find my glasses!” I own all of the original series first season on DVD, I have various films (DVD and VHS), and there is a stuffed Scooby Doo sitting in a fuzzy purple saucer chair in my bedroom. I swear I’m an adult; sometimes I just don’t like to notice.

#3 Guilty Pleasure: Taylor Swift

#3 Guilty Pleasure: Taylor Swift

I really don’t want to like Taylor Swift since she turned into a pop diva. I loved her when she was a country singer, and I’m actually not ashamed to admit that. But I do cringe a bit when I remember that I freaking love the song “Blank Space” and that the music video to “Shake it Off” made me giggle even though I still don’t particularly care for the music itself on that one. One T-Swift song that can die a horrible death though: “I Knew You Were Trouble.” Stop playing this. Play more “Blank Space,” which also has a fab music video.

#4 Guilty Pleasure: 80s Music

#4 Guilty Pleasure: 80s Music

My other music guilty pleasure: 80s hair metal. Okay, really most 80s music. This genre is fail-proof for keeping me awake on long drives or at work. I just need a Def Leppard, Poison, or Journey song playing, and I can belt out the lyrics to stay alert. I have quite a record collection of these babies (and some 70s, of course). The Go-Gos album Beauty and the Beat is my go-to music when getting ready for a night out.

#5 Guilty Pleasure: vampire/werewolf romance novels

#5 Guilty Pleasure: vampire/werewolf romance novels

I love paranormal romance novels. My two favorite authors in this genre are Sherrilyn Kenyon and Laurell K. Hamilton. A friend introduced me to the Anita Blake: Vampire Hunter series in high school, and I was hooked immediately. I guess this is kind of like my grandma’s love of Harlequin romance novels, but because I like vampires and shapeshifters, I need the paranormal angle to feel justified in reading them. Of course, they also have to be well-written; I do have standards.

So, there it is: five of my guilty pleasures. And do I feel guilty? Not one bit. Just, you know, maybe a little sheepish.

Opinions, Thoughts, and Questions belong below!

