20 something logo

20 Something: Reading as Inspiration

For the past two days, I have been binge-watching Russell Howard’s Good News. Not the full 48 hours, of course. I did go to work today. This is a satirical news show, kind of like our The Daily Show or the (sadly) cancelled Colbert Report.

Anyway, I love this show (even the old episodes) because it’s incredibly funny. It’s like a more offensive version of John Oliver’s Last Week Tonight, but with the British guy actually talking about British news. I also love it because I think it’s really interesting to see how other countries deal with the news.

But the only reason I’m bothering to write a blog post about it is because of the final segment of each episode. For the last bit, after 20+ minutes of taking the piss (I wish we had this phrase in America) Russell shows a story that restores some faith in humanity.

The episode I just finished is episode 5 from season (series) 9. At the end, the inspiring clip was about a mobile library in Honduras. A volunteer reads to kids and then they each get to pick a book and read for themselves. And the kids were crazy excited about it.

So the story was already amazing, and then there was an interview with one of the kids and he said (it was Spanish, so this is the translation) : “I come here to attend your classes, and I really miss you guys when you don’t come because you read stories to me, and without stories you can’t do anything.”

512920RW42Z3N1

Stories are what make us who we are. Without them, we have no culture, no real sense of being. We need them to function as a society.

And now, I’m going to get back to writing my story because I’m already getting behind on NaNoWriMo and it’s only day 3.

But I hope that you’ve enjoyed this tidbit, and I hope that it resonates with you as much as it did with me.

Happy writing.

Opinions, Thoughts, and Questions belong below!

