NaNoWriMo alternative: Day 6, Lost in the Land of the YouTubes

It’s distraction day. Pick a YouTube video and discuss it.

I don’t actually need a distraction day considering that I am still woefully behind on Nano right now. A lot of the reason for that is that I have been on YouTube entirely too much lately.

But, I have been keeping up with this challenge that I set for myself (yay!) so at least I can use all the hours of video I’ve been watching to help this along.

With that in mind, here are 6 YouTube channels that have had me letting the AutoPlay keep rolling along:

1) Comme Une Française

maxresdefault

This channel is connected to a free French-learning website run by the lovely Géraldine Lepère. She posts tons of videos where she explains facets of French culture, tips for learning the language, weird eccentricities of French, etc.

There’s a LOT of material here. The videos are usually between 5-10 minutes (or shorter) and they are packed with information. I’m still working my way through all the videos.

2) Dan Rock

hqdefault

This is another channel that I use for language-learning. Dan Rock is an American living in Paris. His videos are all in French. He discusses a lot of the differences between French and American culture.

My favorite video is Les Mecs aux USA. He hasn’t uploaded a new video in a couple of months, but there’s quite a backlog of vids to choose from. As with CUF, most of the videos are between 5-10 minutes.

3) Good Mythical Morning

gmm chicken

This is essentially a morning talk show. I’ve encountered Rhett and Link during random moments, but it was only a week or two ago that I found one of their videos and ended up binge-watching old episodes for hours.

Their sketches and songs are pretty funny, but really my favorite episodes are just the ones where the duo sit and talk about randomness. Like this video about DIY Halloween costumes. I also love that they really connect to their (sizeable) fanbase.

I encourage you to check them out, but I also want to warn that watching the videos can be addictive, and they’re pretty much all between 10-15 minutes, so they eat a lot of time.

4) Team Four Star

TeamFourStar

This is another channel with a huge fanbase. They have a separate website where all the videos are initially posted (up to two days before they hit YouTube).

My favorite series they do is the DBZ Abridged parody series, which is actually what got me interested in watching the show Dragonball Z. I’m now a life-long fan because of these guys. Episode parodies around usually around 10 minutes long, while the movie parodies are 20-30 minutes.

The vids of the guys playing video games (either as anime characters or as themselves) are also pretty funny. These can go on for hours.

5) Russell Howard’s Good News

russell howard

This is my most recent obsession. Actually, I just posted something about one of the episodes. The “It’s Not All Doom and Gloom” at the end of the 28-minute show is amazing. But all the comedy/satire of the news is great, too. And it helps that he’s adorable.

Sometimes I don’t get the humor because I have no idea who the people are being discussed, but I’m slowly picking up on more of the prominent people in Britain. Mostly Boris Johnson. That’s the main one I know at this point. Thanks, Russ.

6) Yoga with Adriene

maxresdefault (1)

This isn’t one that I’ve been watching much of recently because I’ve been seriously slacking on yoga. However, when I first started getting serious about my yoga practice a couple of years ago, Adriene was one of the first instructors I found on YouTube, and she remains my favorite.

Her instructions are really easy to follow, and she seems to have a sequence for whatever style I’m feeling that day. She has a lot of different time lengths for sequences. I think 45 minutes is the longest I’ve done, and some of the Foundations of Yoga vids are 10 minutes or less.

Others

I’ve also been watching a lot of videos about coding lately. I’ve found a couple that I liked. For instance, this one from LearnCode.Academy and this one from a Harvard MOOC. But I haven’t really found anything that resonates with me enough that I don’t just bookmark it for later.

So what’re your go-to videos and channels for YouTube? Do you even like YouTube or do you gravitate more towards Vimeo or another video site? Let me know! I’ve been trapped in my apartment watching videos alone for too long, I need to talk to somebody!

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo alternative: Day 6, Lost in the Land of the YouTubes

Opinions, Thoughts, and Questions belong below!

