NaNoWriMo Alternative: Day 7, For the Love of Language

My love of French is well-documented on this site. What’s your favorite language?Or if that sounds weird, what language would you really really like to learn?

I talk about French a lot because it’s the language that I’m currently trying to get better at. I speak really bad French, but I can understand most things that I read and a lot of things that are spoken.

I watched a video earlier today that was an interview with Bradley Cooper entirely in French, and I understood basically everything. Which, side note, how awesome is it that Bradley Cooper speaks French?

But I digress. I talk about French a lot, so for this post, I’m going to talk about some other languages that I want to learn.

Italian

I think this one is actually less useful in my current location than French is (and French is so not useful in Oklahoma) but I love the sound of it. Also, I took an Italian film class in college, and there were some fabulous films that I would love to watch without subtitles.

German

Equally unhelpful in the central U.S. I really just want to learn this one because it seems difficult. I’ve had various friends who studied German in either high school or college, and I was always a little jealous. I also had a German exchange student friend in high school, and she made German seem really cool.

Spanish

This is probably the only language on the list that is actually useful where I live. For that reason alone I would like to pick it up. A lot of people here get irritated when Spanish-speakers don’t know English, but I have the opposite reaction.

I’m embarrassed by my inability to communicate with them. I know they aren’t blaming me for not speaking Spanish, but I kind of end up blaming myself. Weird but true. It might be because I know how difficult it is to learn a new language and I wish I could help.

Czech

Like many Americans, my pedigree can best be described as “European Mutt.” However, the largest chunk of nationality floating in my DNA (that I know of) is Czech. Actually, my last name is Czech. Of course, the closest thing to Czech heritage that my family has maintained is a love of kolaches (koláče), but I would like to learn the language. Maybe visit Prague at some point.

Others

OK, so this list is entirely European languages. I do have a passing interest in learning Japanese as well, but I think that one falls behind the others on this list. Chinese would be nice, too. Actually, I just want to speak all of the languages.

I think I targeted most of the ones on the list because they 1) are probably the easiest for a native English speaker to learn and 2) would allow me to communicate with the greatest number of people (not including Chinese, of course).

I think that’s really the key for me. I want to learn about other cultures. Language is a major key to really understanding where someone comes from. It’s how you can tap into their literature and arts. I like realizing how I’m like other people and how I’m different, and I like celebrating both of those aspects.

So, yeah, I want to be a polyglot.

How about you? Any of these languages strike your fancy?

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Alternative: Day 7, For the Love of Language

  1. Rachel Leshaw says:

    I’ve been attempting to learn French since a trip to West Africa. I use the Rocket Languages online program and it is slow going bc I don’t put in enough time! hoping to go to France for an immersion course. where I live (Southern California) it’s most practical to choose Spanish during high school/college.

    Like

    • jenovotony says:

      I haven’t heard of that program, but I’ll have to look into it. I’m always searching for new ways to improve. An immersion course sounds so great; bonne chance!

      Like

Opinions, Thoughts, and Questions belong below!

