NaNoWriMo Alternative: Day 10, Procrastination

Let’s check in with our writing buddy.What’s he/she/it up to today?

Well, my writing buddy is sitting around patiently waiting for me to get my act together and actually work on her story.

My alternative to NaNo, which was supposed to be more of a companion activity, has actually turned into a true alternative. I haven’t written anything on the novel since day 2. I suppose at this point I could still catch up, but for some reason my heart isn’t really in it this year.

I think I just have too much going on right now. I’m learning web development, knitting Christmas presents, writing this blog, writing freelance content, working in retail, and trying to remind myself that I really should talk to people sometimes.

It’s been difficult enough lately to make myself do the things that I need to do instead of watching YouTube videos all day. Procrastination has been at an all time high, and I’m not really sure where this lethargy is coming from.

So, I just took this quick break from working on a freelance piece to jot out this line about my procrastination. I don’t like to declare defeat in NaNo this early on, but I really don’t see myself pulling it together to make a comeback.

The story I started has always given me trouble. I first got the idea for it something like seven years ago. Every couple of years since then I have tried to actually turn it into more than just copious notes and sketches. I still feel that the idea is valid; it’s just proving particularly hard to get it out onto the page. Maybe now just isn’t the right time.

Anyway, I need to stop procrastinating and work on that piece that I’m actually getting paid to write. I think I like this blog so much because there’s no real pressure to do it. I hope that people enjoy reading it when they stumble across my posts, and I love hearing comments because I like the community aspect of blogging, but I know that I’m still mostly writing this for myself.

Anybody else have problems with procrastination?

Opinions, Thoughts, and Questions belong below!

