20 something logo

Found: White Female Dog

I met my friend at Hideaway pizza for his birthday. As we were leaving, people were going a little nuts over a couple of dogs that were outside. One was incredibly skittish and ran away when someone tried to get close, but the other was extremely friendly, and we ended up getting a hold of her collar.

She had a rabies vaccination tag, but no other I.D. The phone number on the rabies tag was for a shelter, but they were closed.

After posting a pic on Facebook, and calling a few friends to see if anyone could take her for the night (no one could) we ended up at an animal hospital nearby. They scanned for a microchip, but she didn’t have one.

They were able to put her in their isolation room overnight and said they would call the shelter in the morning.

I don’t have a dog. My apartment is really tiny, and I’m not sure that I feel up to having a living creature reliant on me at this point. But if I did have a dog (or cat or anything else that could escape) I hope that someone would try to help like my friend and I did.

If the hospital hadn’t been able to keep her overnight, I probably would have brought her home with me and figured something out because I feel very strongly about this. I couldn’t just leave the poor thing out there to wander around and possibly get hit by a car. Plus, it’s getting really cold out tonight.

I hope that her owner(s) find her. I had a dog go missing once. I’m pretty sure she was eaten by coyotes, but if we had lived in a more inhabited area, I like to think that someone would have helped me find her. Losing a pet is really rough.

Anyway, I just thought I’d share this. I don’t have a good picture of the dog, but I hope that by taking her to the animal hospital, she’ll make it back home.

Cheers.

found lost dog

Photo by Micah

Opinions, Thoughts, and Questions belong below!

