NaNoWriMo Alternative: Day 19, My Life in Music

Describe your day/week/month in song lyrics.

Day

“Good Morning” Psychostick

online_PsychostickGroup2

Photo from here

This song perfectly captures my morning argument with myself about getting out of bed. Adult Jen wants to get up and around while Kid Jen wants to stay in bed forever and ever. Adult Jen often resorts to threats and insults, which is probably a good indication that I shouldn’t procreate.

“9 to 5” Dolly Parton

9-to-5-840328287

I remember listening to this song on a 45 in the “junk room” at my grandparents’ house when I was a kid. If I had known then the validity of lines such as “you spend your life putting money is his wallet” and “barely gettin’ by, it’s all takin’ and no givin'”… Ah, the innocence of youth.

“Be Good to Yourself” Journey

Journey+Be+Good+To+Yourself+135548

This is my mantra when I get home from work. I really try to work on freelance stuff (portfolio website is still in the process of being built) and finish the Christmas presents that I’m knitting and cook real food and any of the other tons of things that I want to do, but I also want to be good to myself and just chill out watching YouTube and eating pizza-flavored Pringles.

Week

“Weightless” All Time Low

tumblr_m3ytiy4pL11rt8q5do1_500

Image found here

“I’ve been going crazy, I don’t wanna waste another minute here.” I have had serious cabin fever relating to my apartment, my city, and my state for the past week. I feel like I need to get out and travel again. I go to work, I come home, I possibly meet a friend for dinner or drinks, and then I come home again. On my days off, I usually don’t even leave the apartment unless I desperately need something. Like mayo. Or wine.

But there is a positive to the song: “Maybe it’s not my weekend, but it’s gonna be my year.” Okay, so the year is almost over. But 2016 will be my year!

Month

“The Middle” Jimmy Eat World

Jimmy Eat World

Image found here

“It’s just takes some time, little girl, you’re in the middle of the ride. Everything, everything will be just fine.” This my life right now. It’s also related to the previous song. I just keep giving myself this pep talk that once this transition stage is over, everything will be alright, alright.

Opinions, Thoughts, and Questions belong below!

