NaNoWriMo Alternative: Day 20, Learn All the Things

I majored in English, but I wanted to learn so many other things. If money was no issue, what subject(s) would you pursue degree(s) in?

Learning new subjects is one of my favorite things. There’s so much that I want to know. I love being in a classroom. If I could be a professional student, I would definitely do that.

Here are a few degrees that I have considered at some point:

Computer Science

I’ve talked before about how I’m learning web development. Online resources and books from the library are great, and I’ve heard a lot of developers talk about how a degree is unnecessary. Still, I wish I could actually study this in school. I miss the structure of a college course.

Library and Information Science

I’ve considered getting a Master’s in this. I love the idea of working in a university library. Archives are also really interesting to me, and cataloging things is, too. Maybe it’s weird, but I love organizing things. That might be a silly reason for wanting to study this, but if I could just study whatever I wanted this is one of the things I would like to look into more.

French

This one should be obvious. I nearly obtained a minor in French with my Bachelor’s, and I kind of wish that I had thought of double majoring. I miss being in French classes because I had a built-in chat group. It’s a lot harder now to find people to practice my pretty terrible spoken French with.

Physics

I’ve always been fascinated by physics. I’m not the best at math, though. Rather, I never particularly liked math, so I didn’t much bother with it. I never even took Calculus. My interest in this subject is more about wishing that I was a more scientifically inclined person at a young age, but I devoted my focus to language arts starting in kindergarten so I was pretty much set in it by the time I made it to college.

International Studies

How fascinating are other countries and cultures? Seriously, there are so many things that could be done with this related to business, charities, politics, etc.

Theater Arts

I actually minored in theater for my first two years of college, but I dropped it when I transferred schools. I adored the stage when I was in high school. It’s one of the few things I miss about those four years. Even working backstage in tech was amazingly fun. I wish I could get back into theater now, but as long as I’m in retail, it isn’t really feasible. I would like to learn more about different acting processes, set building, and production.

En fin

This is just a few of the things I wish I could back to school to study. I know it’s possible to learn about them outside of a classroom setting, and with a couple of them, I am doing just that. Still, I’m feeling a little nostalgic for my university days. It’s only been six months, but I really do miss it.

Opinions, Thoughts, and Questions belong below!

