20 something logo

20 Something: 5am Pasta

Last night (OK, very very early this morning) I posted a video to YouTube that I had actually recorded a few nights before but just got around to editing. In the video, I was making pasta at 5 in the morning, and in the description of the video, I said that I would probably post the recipe on this blog at some point.

So, here’s that before I forget.

5 a.m. Pasta

Now, this is based on a recipe from AllRecipes.com called Cajun Pasta Fresca. So that original recipe is linked for you, but what follows is my variation, and specifically what I was using on the night when I did the video.

Ingredients

Note: Ingredients with a (?) are optional. Ingredients without amounts use what I call the Eyeball Method.*

  • 4 Roma tomatoes, chopped chunky
  • 1/4 red bell pepper, chopped small or chunky
  • 1/4 medium yellow onion, chopped small
  • minced garlic
  • olive oil
  • salt
  • garlic powder?
  • pepper?
  • basil
  • oregano?
  • Cajun seasoning
  • parsley
  • sliced Asiago
  • mozzarella
  • angel hair pasta (2 servings)

Instructions

  1. You probably already know how to cook pasta, so just cook the pasta. It doesn’t even have to be angel hair. The original recipe used vermicelli and that worked really well. Basically any sort of thin pasta will work. You could even do the twirly stuff. Get crazy.
  2. Splash some olive oil in a medium skillet or sauce pan. I’m all about using what you have on hand and making it work. You’ll want approximately a tablespoon of olive oil, but more or less of it shouldn’t really hurt anything.
  3. Toss onion and red bell in the skillet. Sauté for a bit. If using wet/fresh minced garlic, that can go in now, too. I use the dry stuff because it’s easier to find, so with that, you’ll want to wait 5 minutes while the veggies soften before adding the minced garlic or it might (probably will) burn.
  4. After veggies are soft, added the chunky chopped tomatoes and sprinkle with either salt or garlic powder. You’re going to let those babies get nice and bubbly. When they do, smush them with a fork.
  5. Stir in seasonings (i.e. Basil, Parsley, and Cajun for sure. Oregano and pepper if you want to.)
  6. Let all that simmer on low for 15 minutes. Dance around the kitchen or film a YouTube video while waiting.
  7. Turn off heat, but leave the pan on that burner. Mix in the cheeses. As noted in the video, I really only used Asiago because I’m trying to get rid of the smelly stuff and I was out of Parmesan. Generally, I recommend Parmesan and mozzarella for this exercise.
  8. Plop cooked noodles into skillet with the sauce. Mix well. Serve immediately before the cheese has time to stick to the dishes when it should be sticking to your insides.

 

5 a.m. pasta

Ta da! 5 a.m. Pasta!

*The Eyeball Method is the annoying habit that some cooks (myself included) have of not measuring spices. Basically, the important parts are sort of measured and the other ingredients are proportioned from that. It’s incredibly unhelpful to beginners and I apologize for that. IF anyone is interested in a more precise recipe, let me know, I will try to act like a professional the next time I make this so that I can give you those numbers.
One thought on “20 Something: 5am Pasta

Opinions, Thoughts, and Questions belong below!

