New Blogging Schedule

Over the past few months, I have been trying to decide where I want to end up career-wise. I have been bouncing around from idea to idea and pursuing various potentials to the point that I have not been able to stick to any one thing.

Part of me thinks that this latest idea is just another distraction as I try to find where I’m going with my life. However, on the off-chance that this is really something I can get behind and stick to, I wanted to let my readers know how I plan to progress with this blog.

I never started this blog with the intention of making money from it. And that still doesn’t figure into my plans as of now. Perhaps someday, but really all I’m looking for is the ability to share things I enjoy and things that are happening in my life with like-minded individuals.

I’m still not really happy with my retail job, but I recently switched departments and I think that novelty can keep me going for a while, so I’m putting the writing job hunt on hold until I am ready to begin looking outside of my home state for employment. I still plan to take on freelance work, though.

Basically, that was a lengthy intro to get to my point about this blog. I want to be more consistent. I want to build this into something that people will actually read and comment on (family and friends on Facebook, I know you already do this and I immensely appreciate it!). I want to get more involved with the blogging community.

So, in the interest of building consistency, I have planned out an extremely tentative schedule for posts. It occurred to me while doing this that many of my topics are widely diverse and that not all readers will be interested in all things. Someone who is interested in my recipes might not care about my relationship articles, and someone who loves my French articles (there are more coming, I promise!) might not care about my latest knitting project.

With that in mind, I’m planning to A) improve the organization of the site so that readers can find things more easily and B) post specific topics on specific days.

blogging schedule

For now I’m leaving Tuesday and Thursday blank. I may use those as days for articles that don’t fit a category or I may add new categories later. I may just use those as days of rest where I don’t post anything.

These days may change around, too. I’m beginning to realize that trying to hold myself to a strict plan of action is not really in line with my personality. I’m drawn to freelance work because it is so flexible. Yet, I also understand that consistency is a key component of running a blog like this.

It’s going to take me some more time to figure out how to combine all of this knowledge into a working lifestyle for me, but I’m getting there.

And ultimately, that’s what this blog is mainly about: detailing the trials and tribulations of being a 20 something, and figuring out what the heck I’m doing with my life is a major part of that.

So I hope that you like this idea. If anyone has any other suggestions for how to maintain a blog schedule or if there are specific things you would like to see, please let me know in the comments.

And let me know what’s your favorite part of the blog: what are your favorite topics?

It’s all over the place so I know that not everyone likes everything (as mentioned above). I doubt that I will really limit the types of things I talk about, but I am interested in which genres people want to see more of so I can maybe focus on bringing those up more often if this schedule idea doesn’t work out for me.

Cheers.

4 thoughts on “New Blogging Schedule

  1. Cara Siskova says:

    I would love to see some fashion!!! 😀 😀

    When it comes to consistency, from my own experience, I’ve found that it’s not about posting everyday, but posting on a regular schedule. I post at least once a week and started getting offers from brands after 6 months of blogging.

    Good luck with everything Jen! I truly hope it all works out. I’ve read some of your articles and I KNOW you can do it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • jenovotony says:

      I’ve actually been thinking about collaborating with my fashiom-savvy friend at liliesandlattes.com to do some fashion pieces because I’m kind of hopeless!
      Thank you for the advice and kind words 🙂

      Like

  2. Lunar says:

    If there’s one thing I’ve learned over the last year, its that posting more frequently doesn’t usually increase readership or comments. So as long as you keep your quality up and you don’t disappear completely (aka, post at least once a week), your audience will stay with you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jenovotony says:

      That’s really good advice. Thanks! I’m thinking that some of the article genres will be every other week or something to that effect. I just have so many ideas right now! But I’m trying to use the scheduling feature more rather than bombarding everyone with multiple posts.

      Like

Opinions, Thoughts, and Questions belong below!

