Foodie Fun: Cheesy Chicken and Rice

One of my favorite things to cook (ever) are one dish meals. I found a recipe for Cheesy Chicken Skillet in a Betty Crocker cookbook (2006) in the 20 minutes or less category. I’ve never actually timed it, so I’m not sure if it really takes less than 20 minutes, but I do know that it’s a really easy recipe.

But, as with many things that I cook multiple times over the course of a couple years, I don’t actually follow the recipe anymore. So, that recipe was the inspiration, but here’s how I do it now.

Cheesy Chicken and Rice Skillet

Servings for normal people: 2

Servings for Jen: 3-4

Ingredients

  • Chicken (2-3 tenderloins) chopped
  • olive oil
  • salt and pepper
  • bell pepper
  • mushrooms
  • onion
  • frozen broccoli (1/2 bag)
  • Basil?
  • Oregano?
  • Parsley?
  • Garlic powder/minced garlic
  • 1 cup of water
  • 1 cup of instant white rice
  • shredded cheese

Instructions

  1. Splash some olive oil (like a tablespoon or so, don’t over do it or you’ll get burned when you add the chicken) in a pre-heated medium-ish skillet or saucepan (you’ll need one with a lid).
  2. Dump chicken pieces in the pan and brown them with salt and pepper.
  3. Add veggies of choice (my recommendations are in the ingredients list) minus the frozen broccoli. Add some garlic powder or minced garlic.
  4. Add a cup of water and bring to a boil.
  5. Plop broccoli and rice in boiling water. Stir to coat evenly. Cover the pan and reduce heat to lowest setting. Let it mellow until the rice and broccoli are done (5-10 minutes).
  6. Add spices of choice (my recommendations are above).
  7. Pour on copious amount of shredded cheese. Stir. Recover. Let it mellow until the cheese is melty.
  8. Eat the food.

A couple of things to be wary of: make sure you test the rice. Hard rice is gross, so if it’s not cooked thoroughly, bring it back to a boil and let it finish. It’ll be fine. On that note, you can use non-instant rice, but it takes FOREVER.

As with the previous recipe I posted, I tend to use the Eyeball Method with recipes that I’ve been fixing for long enough that I don’t use a printed recipe. Just eyeball and taste test and everything will turn out fine. Have fun with it.

Some people take cooking really seriously. I like to dance with it. Wine it up a bit. Get a little loosey-goosey. Throw cheese at it. Sometimes the best meals are the ones you “screw up.”

Happy cooking.

Opinions, Thoughts, and Questions belong below!

