20 Something: Just Call Me

Show of hands: who misses phone calls?

Just me? That’s OK.

Actually, no. That’s not OK. Because to have a phone call, you need at least two people. I could theoretically call myself if I had two phones and just leave myself voice mails, but that’s weird even for me.

Also, totally not worth the expense of getting a landline or prepaid phone.

I hate texting. It takes forever. My phone tends to misplace itself. It just stinks.

And I don’t really hang out with my friends in person very often. It’s really hard to get me out of my apartment. It’s cozy.

So when I have a story to tell (and I pretty much always have stories to tell) I want to be able to actually talk to the person. I don’t want to type out a novel just for my phone to decide it’s tired and shut down right as I’m about to hit send.

So recently I’ve been freaking my friends out a bit by actually calling them. I do try to text them first to see if they’re available to chat because when I first started doing this, I just called like you did in the olden days, and they seemed perturbed.

Anyway, here are three reasons why I prefer phone calls:

let's be honest, texting doesn't even really feel like talking to people.

1) My thumbs don’t cramp up

Typing lengthy texts on a tiny screen is just exhausting. I need to save my finger cramps for finishing the Christmas presents I’m knitting. I don’t have time to be out due to a sudden desire to talk to people. And let’s be honest, texting doesn’t even really feel like talking to people.

You can’t hear their tone of voice or picture their face. And emojis and snapchats can’t replace that. Granted you probably can’t picture someone’s face over the phone, either, but hey, Skype still exists.

2) I want to hear the voices of people other than YouTubers

Some people have issues with watching too much Netflix; I watch too much YouTube. And on days when I don’t work, those may be the only voices I hear unless my neighbors are yelling at each other. And those voices aren’t directed at me, so I’m not sure that it counts.

When I go too long without talking to someone, I start talking to myself. I literally have to wander around my apartment talking to myself to feel like I’m not socially-deprived.

I kind of can’t believe that I just admitted that, but I’m going to leave it because I’m sure I cannot be the only person.

3) It’s faster

As mentioned previously, typing out a message takes a while. At least, any real communication beyond “I’m leaving now” or “OK” takes a bit to type even with auto-correct. Now that my phone is in French, it takes even longer because I can’t use auto-correct when talking to English-speakers, which by the way, is everyone I know.

Instead of taking five minutes (possibly exaggerated but not by much) to type out a question and then wait for the person’s response, I can find the answer almost instantly by calling and asking the person. In this age of instant gratification, I’m surprised more people aren’t using this solution.

En fin

I remember before the days of auto-correct when texting was such a pain in the derrière that it still hadn’t really caught on. That’s not really pertinent to anything, I just wanted to point out how old I am.

So these are just a few of the reason why I want to go back to the age of phone calls. Texting and calling are probably equally intrusive in the long run, but lately texts just feel more obnoxious. This could be just because I’ve become really popular since rejoining the online dating world…

Speaking of, it’s almost time to stop doing that again, yay!!

So general public, what do you think? Phone calls or texting, which is better?

3 thoughts on “20 Something: Just Call Me

  1. Lunar says:

    I almost hate to admit this, but I’m afraid of receiving telephone calls. I don’t mind making them (at least not anymore), but I hate being caught off guard and not knowing what the call is about, even if its a friend and not a business call. So for the most part I’d rather text and prearrange Skype sessions than straight up make calls.

    Like

    • jenovotony says:

      I definitely used to be the same way. But then I started job hunting, and I had to talk on the phone a lot whether I was expecting it or not, so I guess I just got used to it. I still won’t answer numbers that I don’t know, though. They have to leave a voicemail. But I totally get that feeling.

      Like

      • Lunar says:

        My first job was actually at a take out place. So I spent 4 hours a night receiving calls and taking orders over the phone. You’d think that I would have gotten past it. But no, not so much. LOL.

        Liked by 1 person

Opinions, Thoughts, and Questions belong below!

