Foodie Fun: Biscuits and Bacon Gravy

Hey all you foodies out there! I have two recipes and a video for you today. The video is here. I knead some dough and talk about being lonely.

I love making biscuits and gravy. I used to just use canned biscuits and packaged gravy, but there were two problems with this once I started living on my own: 1) I don’t eat that much food and 2) it’s not as good.

So, now I make my biscuits from scratch. I got the recipe from the Betty Crocker Cookbook (2006). I also make my bacon gravy from scratch because I’m not a huge fan of sausage. What follows are my adaptations of the two things, though I encourage checking out the BC book (it’s kind of like my Bible) and the original Bacon Gravy recipe.

biscuits snapshot

How fierce is this snapshot?

Baking Powder Biscuits

Serving: 3 biscuits

Things to use

  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/4 tbsp sugar
  • 3/4 tbsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/8 cup shortening
  • 1/4 cup of milk (or more, depending)

Things to do

  1. Make sure that oven is hot at 450 (preheating can wait until dough is ready if you want to make sure the gravy is ready to go at the same time and you don’t have a helper. #singlelife)
  2. Mix dry goods (i.e. everything buy shortening and milk)
  3. Cut in shortening. Use a pastry blender if you’re fancy. Use two kitchen knives if you’re like me. (The BC bible has great tips like how to do this, but there’s probably a YouTube tutorial somewhere. Honestly I just get frustrated and use my hands.)
  4. Stir in milk until dough is verrrrrry sticky.
  5. Knead dough on lightly floured surface until it seems of biscuit dough consistency. If you aren’t sure what that consistency is, open a can of canned biscuits for reference.
  6. Cut using either (fancy-style) cookie cutter or (Jen-style) a glass. Place on greased (PAMed) cookie sheet.
  7. Bake for 10-12 minutes.

Bacon Gravy

Servings

Suggested: 4

Jen: 2

Things to use

  • Bacon (any amount, I use three slices)
  • 1 cup of milk (you might need more)
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • salt and pepper (in moderation)

Things to do

  1. Cook bacon (You should know how to do this. Do it how you like it)
  2. Remove bacon from skillet. Wrap snuggly in paper towls to remove excess grease (because ew).
  3. Dump flour into bacon grease that remains in skillet and whisk vigorously while jamming out to 90s rock.
  4. Mix in milk. Cook until thick but smooth.
  5. Crumble a slice or two of bacon into the gravy. Reserve the fattiest bits for eating on its own because fatty bacon is glorious.
  6. Season with salt and pepper. Actually, you can do this step at any point, including on the plate.
  7. Pour contents of pan onto freshly made from scratch biscuits.

And there you have it. The perfect breakfast. This is actually still too much food for a Jen-sized person, but it’s kind of nice to have that heaping plate of nom available.

Enjoy!

Opinions, Thoughts, and Questions belong below!

