Foodie Fun: How to Cook Christmas Dinner

Christmas Day and my car won’t start. Oi.

Luckily, I have some of the most amazing family members on the planet. When I called to tell them I wasn’t going to make it, my aunt just said “Okay, we’ll come get you. See you soon.”

But they weren’t just picking me. They were fixing the problem. Go grandpa!

Turns out that I have a bad battery, so I’ll have to replace that tomorrow. But for today, we jumped my car so we could get it to my grandparent’s house for Christmas. I’ll just be staying here overnight because the real family get-together with all of my aunts/uncles/cousins will be tomorrow.

But as the adopted one (and the single one), I don’t have any other family to visit today, so I spent the afternoon watching White Christmas (1954) and I think we’re going to watch Scrooged (1988) later.

And right now, we’re cooking Cornish Game Hens for dinner.

IMG_20151225_172443[1]

That’s me in the middle!

I’m so excited. A couple of months ago I had a dream about preparing game hens and I happened to mention it. So we’re having a new thing for Christmas dinner because my aunt is amazing and remembered me mentioning that I would like to try it, even though I had completely forgotten about it.

IMG_20151225_173419[1]

I’m really glad Santa didn’t bring me a boyfriend for Christmas, because I love being reminded of how spectacular my family is and how much love I have around me without an S.O.

Cornish Game Hens

Servings: 4 hens (we’re feeding 5 people and will probably have leftovers)

Ingredients

  • 4 hens
  • salt/pepper/garlic blend
  • olive oil

Instructions

  1. Remove thawed hens from packages. Try not to giggle at how cute and squishy they are. Also try not to feel like a weirdo for thinking that a dead and de-feathered bird is cute. Rinse off excess juice and place hens in a shallow glass dish.
  2. Spritz with olive oil and sprinkle with salt/pepper/garlic blend.
  3. Bake at 400 for 15 minutes. Then have second thoughts, lower the temp to 350 and bake for another 45 minutes.
  4. Enjoy the success of cooking something that is more complicated to eat than it is to cook. Also, feel even classier by having wine with dinner.

IMG_20151225_175412[1]

We’re having scalloped potatoes and broccoli/rice casserole with the hens. I would include recipes for the sides, but my help on that involved peeling potatoes and trying to keep the rice from boiling over. Also, my aunt uses the eyeball method (I’m pretty sure that’s where I learned it) so I’m not sure how helpful my interpretations of those recipes would be.

And side note: my grandparents got me a blender for Christmas! I feel like an adult who finally has all the necessary kitchen appliances!

Joyeux Noël, tout le monde!

 

Opinions, Thoughts, and Questions belong below!

