Foodie Fun: Brie Soup

I recently learned that I can’t walk out of a grocery store without buying some sort of cheese. The last time I went, I ended up with an 8 oz wheel of Brie. Now I love Brie, especially on crackers. But even I get tired of cheese and crackers. So, I hopped on AllRecipes to see what else I could do with it. Apparently plenty, but the one that caught my eye was Brie soup. Yum.

But as I was cooking the recipe (for three servings instead of six) I found myself doing something unusual. I was arguing with the recipe. Things were getting hostile.

  • I mean, what the hell is a velouté? It’s this and AR kept spelling it wrong.
  • And the instructions weren’t telling me everything I needed to know like, do you leave the rind on the Brie? Answer: It’s edible, but personally I think it tastes bitter.
  • How long does it take for the “velouté” to reduce by 1/3? Answer: too damn long.
  • And is it dry wine or sweet? Generally, for cooking I recommend dry, but I only had Moscato on hand so I still don’t have an answer for this one.

Granted, point #3 is partially my fault for not reading the part that said the estimated cooking time was 80 minutes. Also it would have helped if I had read the directions before I started cooking. I’m not good at that.

Would this recipe be better if I had actually followed the instructions to the T? Probably. But I won’t be finding out, so if you do try both versions, let me know.

So, here’s the simplified version of what I ended up doing, and you know what? It was freaking awesome. And vegetarian!

IMG_20160124_220114

Oh, and it still took like an hour and a half.

Brie Soup

Things to Use

  • 3 cups chicken broth (or stock if you’re fancy)
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 6 oz. Brie (3/4 of an 8 oz. wheel)
  • 3 tbsp white wine (I used Moscato)
  • 5 baby carrots, cut in strips
  • 1 celery stalk, chopped
  • Handle of yellow onion, chopped
  • 4 oz can of mushrooms
  • 2 tbsp heavy cream
  • salt and pepper (not entirely necessary at all, but to each her own)

Things to Do

  1. Melt butter over low heat in a saucepan (like 2 qt or bigger).
  2. Mix in flour so it’s nice and clumpy.
  3. Pour chicken broth/stock into the flour/butter and whisk until you think most of the clumps have been vanquished.
  4. Bring to a boil. Lower to a simmer for like 15-20 minutes and skim the yummy butteriness off the top. Eat or discard depending on preference.
  5. Realize that the broth still isn’t the consistency of heavy cream, continue with recipe anyway because you’ve already listened to a full LP, which means this is taking too long.
  6. Use a sieve… Hahahahaha. No. Skip!
  7. Add chunks of Brie at low heat (I took off the rind because I don’t like it and I wasn’t sure it would melt.) Let cheese melt completely before doing anything else. Get frustrated and raise heat to medium. Realize later that Brie probably doesn’t melt completely anyway.
  8. Add veggies (except mushrooms) while there’s still some chunky Brie trying to melt. Bring to boil. Simmer for 15-20 minutes or until veggies are as you like them.
  9. Realize 10 minutes in that you forgot to add the wine with the veggies. Rectify the situation and top off your glass. Then throw in the mushrooms too, without the juice. Continue waiting for veggies to cook.
  10. Stir in heavy cream. Finally eat la soupe.

If you look at the original recipe, we differed in a lot of places. Mostly where I didn’t have the patience to deal with nonsense. And you know what? It’s probably not the same, but it’s still hella good. I’ll take my way.

So what do you think? Worth it to always follow the recipe? Is any soup worth 80 minutes of cook time where you actually need to at least somewhat pay attention to it?

Opinions, Thoughts, and Questions belong below!

