Summer Chicken Salad and Dirty Vinaigrette

Salut, mes amis! I have returned. At least for this post. I’m no longer making predictions about when or if I will post because… well, PSTD is a b*tch, and over the past few months it has been more of a struggle to deal with than it had been for a few years.

But, I think I might be finally getting a handle on that. Maybe. I hope.

Anyway, no matter what the future may bring. While I’m able to, here’s a fun little thing that I’ve been eating for the past three days. It’s great for summer, seems to be fairly healthy (not that I bothered actually checking, but hey it’s Salad), and it’s freaking deliciously cheap and easy.

Also, I’d like to note that I’m calling it “dirty vinaigrette” because 1) it looks black, and 2) pretty sure people don’t usually mix two types of vinegar for these things, but I’m doing it anyway.

So yeah, this is not visually appealing, but it tastes awesome. Kind of par for the course with my cooking to be honest. I would lose at Chopped just because my presentation is bollocks. (And other reasons, but one’s enough for now).

IMG_20160615_155702

Are those fresh cookies cooling in the background??? Why yes, they are.

Servings: 3-6 salads, depending on how much chicken you want

Things to Use

  • Lettuce (I really like Romaine, and not just because it’s what somebody gave me)
  • Fresh veggies, whatever you like on a salad (I’ll list my specs below)
  • 3 Chicken tenderloins
  • 1/2 cup Olive oil (like GOOD olive oil if possible)
  • 1/2 cup Balsamic vinegar
  • 1/4 cup Red wine vinegar
  • Oregano
  • Salt and Pepper
  • Dry minced Garlic

Things to Do

  1. Take fresh veggie donations from relatives who like to garden. Okay, kidding, but seriously. That’s how I got my Romaine, carrots, cucumbers, and squash (which isn’t in my salad, but I’m looking forward to using that later.)
  2. Okay, serious First Step: Heat some olive oil in a skillet to cook the chicken tenderloins. Coat the chicken with whatever seasonings you like (I used garlic powder, salt, pepper, and paprika. I’m obsessed with paprika after I accidentally added it to a recipe instead of cajun seasoning).
  3. While the chicken is sizzling, rinse and cut your veggies and put in a bowl. (I used Romaine, yellow onion, carrots, cucumbers, and celery).
  4. You’ll want to flip the chicken once and just cook it through. Once done, move it to a plate to cool off while you make the vinaigrette.
  5. In a clean pickle jar (or other container with a sealable lid) pour in 1/2 cup of olive oil, 1/2 cup of Balsamic vinegar, 1/4 cup of red wine (possible a bit less, I just kind of eyeballed it in the 1/2 cup), a few shakes of salt and pepper, a couple shakes of oregano, and something like 1/4 tsp of dry minced garlic (or a garlic clove if you’re fancy and don’t plan to keep the dressing).
  6. Seal the jar, and shake that sucker like a maraca.
  7. Taste and adjust any seasonings before adding to the salad (don’t forget to cut up the cooked chicken!)

Conclusion

Now, I want to note that I cooked three pieces of chicken, but that’s because I tend to freeze them in threes. I only used one piece per salad, and I probably could have done just half of each piece and turned this into 6 salads. I’ve certainly got the veggies for it.

Also, it’s good to note that this makes about half a pickle jar of dressing. It doesn’t need to be refrigerated if you used dried minced garlic, but if you use fresh garlic, I really don’t recommend keeping it at all. If there’s fresh garlic, it does need to be refrigerated at least, which will turn the dressing sludgy and need to be set at room temp for a bit before you can actual eat it the next time.

Basically, don’t use fresh garlic, and it will be safe to leave on the counter. Make fresh AT LEAST every two weeks, though. Safety first, people.

So there you have it, Summer Chicken Salad with Dirty Vinaigrette.

2 thoughts on “Summer Chicken Salad and Dirty Vinaigrette

Opinions, Thoughts, and Questions belong below!

